Anime of the Week: Black Butler


Black ButlerFirst of all, I would like to tell the readers of this blog that I am a fan of anime and starting today, I might post several topics anime. After all, this personal blog of mine is intended for random subjects which includes anime, games and some crazy stuff that catch my attention.

So, my first topic in ‘Anime of the Week’ archive is the anime ‘Black Butler’. It was based from the manga written and illustrated by Yana Toboso following the story of a thirteen year old noble, Ciel Phantomhive and his pretty amazing but devilish butler, Sebastian Michaelis. Well, I’d watch the first season few days ago and planning to watch season 2 and it’s OVA in the following days. It was a pretty fun anime with lots of twist, thrilling crime investigations, family drama, vengeance and it was also loaded of funny scenes. Aside from Ciel and Sebastian, the Phantomhive household are such a great comic relief in the story, I think what makes this anime a big deal is the balance of drama, thrill, actions and comedy are rightly mixed up just like those awesome meal and desserts created by Sebastian.

The story is set in the Victorian era of Great Britain, where’s Ciel Phantomhive make a contract with the demon (Sebastian) in order to find out the culprit behind the murder of his parents and kill them; in return, Sebastian will devour Ciel’s soul. And that’s where the story begin, as Ciel’s plan of revenge is going on, Sebastian disguise as his butler and not just as simple as we thought, but a real one hell of a butler.

I think the line “I am simply one hell of a butler” was spoken for so many times in the series and that’s actually my favorite line from Sebastian. There are also some interesting characters in the anime (based on my own preferences) including Madame Red, Agni, Lau and Grell Sutcliff.

Since I’d only watch the first season I can’t fully give a complete rating for this anime, however its awesome twist is really unusual and that’s why I liked it so much. I think I’ll stop here with this article because I really intended to keep ‘Anime of the Week’ as a short topic to discuss and I highly recommend for all anime fans out there to watch Black Butler if you have some time to spare.

Leave a Reply

